Me

September 26th, 2011 → 12:43 pm @ // No Comments

Hi! I’m Lianne, also known as Moooommmmmm, mama, babe, Lee, Mevrouw (said meh + v + ow), Mrs, the Canadian etc.

I live in a small village 15 minutes north of Amsterdam where we lived until 4 years ago.  Now I am known as the Canadian with all those kids and that bike.  In Amsterdam there are probably many me’s. But here in Monnickendam (think Monique + n + dam) I’m the only one.  Makes it easy for others to know who I am (and to know what I do every day since everyone knows who the bike belongs too…)

I have a bicycle built for 6 that I power with my own legs.  Four can sit in the box in the front, one on the back and me.  I love my bike.

I have 4 kids (7,6,4,3) – yes really.  My “all or nothing” personality is becoming more apparent even in having kids.

On the side, I am publishing/writing/producing a series of booklets for the busy woman. Actually I am writing them for myself since I have all these questions about different things but the answers I thought I’d share them in a bunch of small booklets.  Since I couldn’t think of a creative name, they are called “Lianne’s Quick Guide, for the busy woman”.

I’m married to a Dutchman. Actually he’s officially half Hungarian but was born and raised in Amsterdam so actually he’s an Amsterdammer.  He’s the necessary 5 years older than I am and has his own business. We’ve been together for 13 years from the time he hired me to do a freelance project. He’s still paying the price!!!

Amsterdam is one of my favorite cities.  It’s small and international, beautiful and unique. I love that anything goes in the city of bikes.  I have a bike parked by the bus stop in the city so I get in as often as I can for meetings, seeing friends, nights out etc.

Living abroad. Never felt like I lived far away until I had kids. Now, I hate the part of being far away from my family.  The grass is always greener on the other side. I’ve been living in Europe for over 15 years.  It’s just what it is. But if I had a million dollars I would use it to see family and friends more often that live on the other side…

That’s me in a nutshell…



     

Leave a Reply